Biography Prof. Fraass

Benedick Fraass received his BS in Physics from Stanford University in 1974, and received his MS and PhD in Physics at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, working in experimental low temperature solid state physics involving x-ray diffraction on solid helium crystals. He began his medical physics career in 1980 at the National Cancer Institute (NCI) in Bethesda MD, where he was mentored by Jan van de Geijn, phys drs, working on clinical radiation oncology physics, CT-based treatment planning, intraoperative radiation therapy, normal tissue tolerance, and other topics.

Dr. Fraass joined Allen Lichter MD in founding the Department of Radiation Oncology at the University of Michigan in 1984, leading the Radiation Oncology Physics Division from 1984 until 2011. At the UM he rose from Assistant Professor to Professor in 1995, and was named the inaugural Allen S. Lichter Professor of Radiation Oncology in 2009. In 2011, he moved to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, where he is Vice Chair for Research, Professor and Director of Medical Physics in the Department of Radiation Oncology.

Dr. Fraass was instrumental in the treatment planning revolution in the 1980s and early 1990s, leading the development and first routine clinical use of 3-D treatment planning and 3-D conformal therapy. He has been principal investigator of many NCI grants and contracts, including the NCI-funded program project grant "Optimization of High Dose Conformal Therapy” (1993-2011), which funded clinical research in conformal therapy, intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT), plan optimization, improved treatment delivery techniques including computer-control, use of functional and multimodality imaging, and dose escalation and adaptive clinical protocols in brain, head/neck, lung, liver and prostate cancer. He has authored more than 220 publications on a range of issues from advanced treatment planning to quality assurance and safety to clinical radiotherapy dose escalation studies. He has been advisor to 3 PhD students and has mentored the research of more than 25 graduate and undergraduate students, post-docs, and clinical physics and radiation oncology residents.

Dr. Fraass is a fellow of the AAPM, ASTRO, and ACR, and in August 2013 received the William D. Coolidge Award, the highest award of the AAPM. He has served on a wide variety of AAPM and ASTRO committees and task groups, and is currently chair of the AAPM Science Council and co-chair of the ASTRO IHE-RO Task Force, and the Radiation Oncology Safety Stakeholders Initiative. He is a member of the Science Councils of ASTRO and IOMP, has served on IAEA task group efforts, is a member of the Radiation Oncology Health Advisory Committee supporting the Radiation Oncology Incident Learning System, and led the recent ASTRO Safety White Paper efforts on IMRT, Peer Review, HDR, IGRT, and SBRT.


ICCR news

25 June 2016: There have been last minute changes to the programme. Please go to the Full Programme page for details.

16 June 2016: The Conference Book is now available.